Important Updates:

The Hanover Township Food Pantry is open six days per week and is in need of donations. Can you help? Take a look at the list

News List

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Hanover Township Mental Health Board awards funding, bids farewell to members

Post Date:06/06/2018

The Hanover Township Mental Health Board met last week and awarded $40,000 in funding to local agencies. Summit School Inc. received $15,000 in capital funding to assist in unexpected cost of upgrades to their Elgin buildings. Summit is a special education facility specializing in assisting students with learning disabilities, autism, and emotional and anxiety issues that are best served through a therapeutic environment. 

The board awarded Renz Addiction Counseling Center and Ecker Center for Mental Health $25,000 in emergency funding to assist in their merger of resources. The affiliation allows both agencies to continue as separate entities, however will share a joint administrative department that includes accounting, IT support, and human resources. Collectively both agencies served over 400 residents last year.

Following the meeting, the board said goodbye to member Maureen Lue and Township Trustee Mary Alice Benoit. Lue served on the board since 2016 while Benoit wrapped up her third year as the liaison from the Township Board of Trustees. New Trustee Liaison Khaja Moinuddin will begin his service on the board when he is sworn in at their August 28 meeting. 

The volunteer board advocates for increasing the availability and quality of mental health, developmental disabilities and substance abuse services by allocating funds to nonprofit agencies that provides services to Township residents. Last year, the board approved over one million dollars in funds to local agencies.

The board meets the fourth Tuesday of the month, at 6:00PM at the Township offices, 250 S. IL Route 59 in Bartlett. The board does not meet in June and July.

Hanover Township serves over 101,000 residents in portions of the Cook County communities of Streamwood, Elgin, Bartlett, Hanover Park, Hoffman Estates and Schaumburg.

For questions about the Mental Health Board or to learn more about funded agencies, please call (630) 837-0301.

Return to full list >>